Hello Barbara, I have been dressing in plain dress now for five years and still I have good days and bad days. I recently attendid my sons wedding out of state and the mother of the bride would not hear of me wearing plain dress. She brought over many of her dresses for me to try on, her reason was that I should not be the center of attention but the bride. Since that experience I have been questiioning my reasons for dressing plain.  This same woman badgered my husband to get him to say that he would rather me dress sexy rather than in plain dress, my husband ended up saying what she wanted to hear just to get rid of her. I have been really praying that God would give me peace about dressing plain as I am getting very tired of having to defend myself against society. 

Views: 335

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hello, Wanda!

I hope the bride turns out to be more tolerant than her mother!  Having someone push one around is never pleasant.  I would have told the bride's mother "thank you for your concern, but I prefer to make my own choices about my attire."

Bill Rushby

Ugh, that sucks! One of my friends was forced into a colorful (gasp!) brides maid dress for her sister's wedding. As this woman is a ninja (no, really, I'm completely serious about that), she wears clothing that's good for agility at all times...usually black combat boots, black trousers, and a black tank top. Her family took bets on how long she'd stay in the dress once the photos were over. Answer: less than 5 minutes. She sprinted from the photo area to a room where her clothes were stashed. She was very confused by her stepmother, who bet on an hour. Her dad won.

I wouldn't be as civil as William in telling someone to knock it off about my clothing and/or shoe choices (some people really object to sensible shoes in any situation where non-Plain women wear dresses). I'd only require two words, and one of them would rhyme with "duck."

She sounds threatened by your peace.