1870's "Mission Meetings"(referenced in 1993 James Backhouse Lecture, "Living The Way: Quaker Spirituality And Community") were to Quaker Outreach as today's Mission Statements are to Branding.

Somehow, silence is both needed for deep connection to Truth and forced on shameful false-advertising.

Views: 265

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Silence is a need, not a panacea. The nature of a particular instance of 'silence' can vary all over the map, can even constitute the misuse of silence -- as a poor substitute for listening or for openess, for being-with.

As O'Shea concludes, it isn't so much institutional fixes that will determine whether the Quaker movement renews itself and survives, but how well we turn to and respond to God.

An exFriend who was at the time intensely devoted to recruiting new members produced a poster once:

a wholesome, cheerful face with the caption ~[something like]  "I'm a Rocket Scientist and I'm a Quaker!"

which I think illustrates the identity-problem that bedevils all efforts to share what we collectively don't share all that well ourselves.

Hello, Clem!  I don't understand the import of this post.  Obviously, there is a lot of context that is not described.  Would you please explain further?

Thanks for asking, Friend. I was intrigued by the development, in Ursula Jane O'Shea's "Living The Way", of "Mission Meetings"(in England) as an outreach to those "uncomfortable with silence" in Meeting; and wondered if there could be a parallel with programmed Meetings and/or branded, as cause-orientated, versions of Quakerism. If silence be the culprit, then how is planned pursuit of Truth and integrity working for us?!

Thanks, Clem, for the clarification.